Blogging is like confession, without the Hail Marys and Our Fathers

nun_ruler

 

It’s so true isn’t it?

I come here and unload all the shit that churns around in the recesses of my mind and my soul.   All the benefits that comes with the process of confession, none of the fear of being chastised and told to repent.

So there’s something inherently therapeutic about the whole thing.

Meanwhile, back at the ranch Pope Benedict resigns….

4 responses to “Blogging is like confession, without the Hail Marys and Our Fathers

  1. I wasn’t raised catholic so never went to church for confession. The only “Hail Mary’s” in my household was when my Grandma Mary came for a visit. The only “confession” I ever had was when “My Father” called a “family meeting” (interrogation), and I had to sit in the lazy boy(confessional), with the hanging light right above it, and my dad listed all the rules I had broken in the last week or so. (he never nails ya on the first infraction he compiled your sins and threw them at you all at once) There was no way you could think up excuses for that many things all at once so you had to just confess. It was this scared rabbit in the headlights feeling so I learned to just spill my guts immediately and avoid the ambush.
    I much prefer blogging and I’ll never own a lazy boy recliner.

  2. The last time I went to confession I was 16 years old. This was before I’d started my life of sin so all I had to confess was that I didn’t study enough and sometimes I was mean to my grandmother. The priest said my penance was to not be so hard on myself and to hug my grandmother.

  3. Great post – looking at it, I would rather my confession be real and the feedback be honest (even though I blog under a pseudonym, and therefore most don’t know who I am).

    By the way, I’ve just nominated you for a Liebster Award – you have a great blog, so I hope you get a little traffic out of it.

    Cheers!

    Janice Murphy

Go ahead, make my day :)

